On the eve of a big day …

My one and only mini-man turns five tomorrow.  Five years old.  It happened quicker than I thought.  I am torn between my pride and love for him and my sadness that it is going by too fast.  I don’t want to miss it.

My son has grown to become a very smart, intellectual, sarcastic and overwhelmingly compassionate little one.  He has taught me more about how to treat someone than any other single person in my life.  He has taught me the difference between conditional and unconditional love.  He has taught me patience like you would not believe.  He also reminds me daily what a gift life is and how lucky I am to be blessed with being his mother.

Before he was even completely born he started to pee all over me.  🙂

There were times where I got on my knees and prayed that God would make him ease into sleep.

He asked me to marry him the other day.  I told him he didn’t need to marry me, I was already his forever.

He has yet to meet a stranger.

While in Target when he was about two, this woman kept watching us with horribly sad eyes.  Honestly, I was all mama bear inside and starting to get protective.  Ryan wanted me to push him to her, which I did, cautiously.  He reached out to hug her.  She started crying … she had moved here 6 months ago to be closer to her grandchildren and her son was told he had to move to the west coast for work earlier that month.  He knew that woman needed a lift and he provided it without hesitation.

He likes to make up his own stories at bedtime.  We sit next to each other, he picks an animal or topic and we take turns making up stories.  His imagination is killer.

I was talking with a dear friend about the patience with a child.  I have to say, I am so thankful I got to learn about patience from my son.  I have always been impatient.  I still am in a lot of circumstances, though I give and give for an extended period of time, my mind and mouth are not always as patient.  With my mini-man, I have learned to be patient in the best way … it was fun.  Well, okay … not always fun, but still.  There was constant feedback and love on the other end of the learning curve.  There is nothing but joy and love at the end of it.

His dimples get him anything he asks for … and he knows it.

When I am not with him, I fall apart.  I need to work on that …

He inspires me every single day to keep pushing, be stronger, be more loving, spend more time being silly with him and less time worrying over other things.  He is the lesson in life that I always needed and he is the most pure example of love I have ever experienced.

I kept a journal that I wrote to him throughout my pregnancy.  I also have a memory book.  Today should be my last entry, but I confess to missing quite a few dates in the last year (most of them) as I have struggled through my own battles.  But I have written him one long letter to fill those spaces.

He is my son.  At 11:30am tomorrow morning, it will mark five years since my life changed in the most glorious way possible.  I became a mother.  I met a soul mate.  I found out what my purpose in life was – to guide him, to protect his soul until it is ready to flourish and cover this earth with all of its wonder.  I am utterly devoted to that mini-man … my son.

About Tired Little Birdie

Daydreaming is one of the best parts of my day, aside from running around with my mini-man. I am a single mom, a Ph.D., a teacher, a professional, a writer, a photographer, and generally a mess. Life is spontaneous and beautiful and heartbreaking and I am here writing about it all. Some days are more serious than others, but all in all, we are all just winging it through life.
This entry was posted in Mommyism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

