My type of freedom

I am a nerd.  Between episodes of Doctor Who, Orphan Black, the Grand Tour, and viewing all things Harry Potter, I like to read about personality types (MBTI).  I am an INFJ and it fits me to a T.  I know people of pretty much all personality types and I like reading about how they think and feel to help me better understand them.

While reading about these types the other night, a few of the types had characteristics like “need to feel free.”  I thought we all want to feel free.  But I started to wonder if ‘freedom’ meant something different for different people.  Certainly, I have experienced a few times of “freedom,” some I do not much care for at all!

Some people may relish in having freedom to do what they want, when they want it.  This could mean heading on a spontaneous trip, heading to a store, playing video games, performing a hobby, etc., without having to check in with anyone else, ask, etc.  This sounds nice, yes, but not so much for me.  I may like being able to come and go, but I want someone to care, someone to want to be with me while I do it, or someone to make sure I get home okay.  I have found if I am in a relationship and my partner does not care where I am going, when I am going and what I am doing, I do not necessarily feel freedom.  I had a long-term relationship like this and I can honestly say that I felt trapped more than free.  I did not feel loved, but yet I loved my partner, creating this odd holding cell where I waited for any sign of affection.  To me, this “sense of freedom” was actually hurting me and not allowing me to reach my full potential.

My freedom looks very different.  I tend to be a bit more conservation in a lot of ways, even with my tattoo and sass.  🙂  I have a wild side, a streak of spontaneity, and a side of goofiness that I have to say I adore in myself.  However, I rarely let down my protective walls to be who I am deep down.  That is, unless I am in a relationship where I feel safe.  Once that foundation feels strong and steady, my walls come down and I am as free as I will ever be.  Once I feel loved, there is a security in that love that allows me to gain confidence and be who I am without worrying about other’s opinions.  That is when I am most free.

Odd how my being free is synonymous with being in a relationship while for others it is the opposite.

 

About Tired Little Birdie

Daydreaming is one of the best parts of my day, aside from running around with my mini-man. I am a single mom, a Ph.D., a teacher, a professional, a writer, a photographer, and generally a mess. Life is spontaneous and beautiful and heartbreaking and I am here writing about it all. Some days are more serious than others, but all in all, we are all just winging it through life.
This entry was posted in Musings, Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

